Saturday, June 10, 2023
Home » Park Eun-bin wins big at Baeksang Arts Awards 2023

Park Eun-bin wins big at Baeksang Arts Awards 2023

by Amber Simmons

Park Eun-bin has won the Grand Prize for television in the recently concluded 59th Baeksang Arts Awards.

The prestigious awards ceremony took place at Incheon Paradise City on April 28, 2023. Hosted by Shin Dong-yup, Bae Suzy, and Park Bo-gum, the event started at 5:30 pm KST and was broadcast live via JTBC and TikTok.

Park Eun-bin emerged as the evening’s big winner for her exceptional performance portraying an autistic female attorney in the ENA drama “Extraordinary Attorney Woo.”

Park Eun-bin poses for photographs on the red carpet at the 59th Baeksang Arts Awards. [Photo from Xportsnews]

The grand prize is the highest Baeksang award given to an individual or work in both television and film every year, with past TV winners that include Squid Game (2022), variety performer Yoo Jae-suk (2021), When the Camellia Blooms (2020), actress Kim Hye-ja (2019), Stranger (2018), and screenwriter Kim Eun-sook (2017).

“Extraordinary Attorney Woo” also won Best Director for PD Yoo In-shik, taking home a total of two awards during the night. This is the second time that Yoo In-shik won the Baeksang award for TV director, following his previous win for “Dr. Romantic” in 2017.

“Extraordinary Attorney Woo” and Netflix’s “The Glory” boast the most number of Baeksang nominations for any drama this year, with the latter winning a total of three awards, the highest for any series.

“The Glory” won Best Drama against “Extraordinary Attorney Woo,” “My Liberation Notes,” “Our Blues,” and “Little Women.” Meanwhile, its stars Song Hye-kyo and Lim Ji-yeon bagged the Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress trophies, respectively. Although Song Hye-kyo had been nominated for Best Actress in TV three times in previous years, this is the first time she has received the award.

Song Hye-kyo at the 59th Baeksang Arts Awards
Song Hye-kyo at the 59th Baeksang Arts Awards. [Photo from Xportsnews]

Meanwhile, The Glory‘s achievement marks the second consecutive year that a Netflix original series has been recognized as Best Drama at Baeksang, following the success of “D.P.” last year.

“The Glory” writer Kim Eun-sook, who won the Grand Prize for TV in 2017, got nominated for the best screenplay award but lost to writer Park Hae-young of JTBC’s “My Liberation Notes.” Impressively, Park won the same award in 2019 for “My Mister.”

Aside from Yoo In-shik and Park Hae-young, Lee Sung-min has also taken home his second Baeksang award for Best Actor in TV during the ceremony. The “Reborn Rich” star won the same recognition in 2015 for his role in “Misaeng: Incomplete Life.”

Meanwhile, Jo Woo-jin won Best Supporting Actor for his performance in the Netflix original series “Narco-Saints.” In the newcomer categories, actor Moon Sang-min (“Under the Queen’s Umbrella”) and actress Roh Yoon-seo (“Crash Course in Romance”) emerged victorious.

Lastly, the Baeksang technical award for TV went to Ryu Seong-hee for her art direction in the tvN drama “Little Women.”

Source: TV Daily

You may also like

Leave a Comment


Parlour Digital prides itself on being the quintessential destination for popular culture across the world, we specialise in K-Pop and K-Drama news.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More